[]
[]
The catalog is currently experiencing some technical issues. In the meantime, you can access the old catalog here. We appreciate your patience while we work to resolve these issues.
Need Help Logging In? Your password is "patron" unless you changed it in our former catalog; please create a new password once you have created an account. Call Reference at 847-272-4873 if you need assistance, or email us.  Is the item you want on the shelf? Call us at 847-272-6224 to have it set aside for you instead of placing a hold!

The Impossible Knife of Memory

Anderson, Laurie Halse (Book - 2014 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The Impossible Knife of Memory
Print

Item Details

For the past five years, Hayley Kincaid and her father, Andy, have been on the road, never staying long in one place as he struggles to escape the demons that have tortured him since his return from Iraq. Now they are back in the town where he grew up so Hayley can attend school. Perhaps, for the first time, Hayley can have a normal life, put aside her own painful memories, even have a relationship with Finn, the hot guy who obviously likes her but is hiding secrets of his own.
Authors: Anderson, Laurie Halse
Title: The impossible knife of memory
Publisher: New York, New York :, Viking, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA),, [2014]
Characteristics: 391 pages ;,22 cm
Content Type: text
Media Type: unmediated
Carrier Type: volume
Summary: For the past five years, Hayley Kincaid and her father, Andy, have been on the road, never staying long in one place as he struggles to escape the demons that have tortured him since his return from Iraq. Now they are back in the town where he grew up so Hayley can attend school. Perhaps, for the first time, Hayley can have a normal life, put aside her own painful memories, even have a relationship with Finn, the hot guy who obviously likes her but is hiding secrets of his own.
Audience: 12+.
ISBN: 0670012092
9780670012091
Statement of Responsibility: Laurie Halse Anderson
Subject Headings: Veterans Fiction. Family problems Fiction. Post-traumatic stress disorder Fiction. Fathers and daughters Fiction. Veterans Juvenile fiction. Dysfunctional families Juvenile fiction. Post-traumatic stress disorder Juvenile fiction. Fathers and daughters Juvenile fiction.
Genre/Form: Young adult fiction.
Topical Term: Veterans
Family problems
Post-traumatic stress disorder
Fathers and daughters
Veterans
Dysfunctional families
Post-traumatic stress disorder
Fathers and daughters
LCCN: 2013031267
MARC Display»

Library Staff

Creative Writing; Senior Composition


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jul 28, 2014
  • aleshia97 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I absolutely loved this book. It kept me intrigued and interested with the unexpected behaviors of her father. I think the book was very well written and a good read, surprisingly took only two days to read.

NYPL Staff Pick
Hayley is looking forward to settling down and leading a "normal" life. But her father's PTSD isn't going to let that happen.

Jun 05, 2014
  • ontherideau rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

an important book - world leaders should read it

May 13, 2014
  • Cdnbookworm rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This teen novel has high school senior Hayley Kincain as its main character. Hayley's mother died when she was just a baby, and she lived in this small town with her grandmother until the age of seven, when her grandmother died. Following that her life path becomes a little less clear, but she has spent the last five years on the road with her father, until he finally decides to move back to the house and town he grew up in so Hayley can spend her senior year in a real high school instead of reading textbooks in the truck and in hotel rooms. Hayley reunites quickly with a friend from the distant past, Gracie, but has more trouble adjusting to high school. She doesn't know the rules of how to act, and finds many of her fellow students' behaviour unappealing. Her introduction to nerdy Finn, first as a friend, then as math tutor and perhaps more, have her feeling less sure of herself and yet more connected to this town.
But Hayley's real struggle is with her father, a veteran of both the Iraq and Afghanistan wars, suffering from his own demons in the form of post traumatic stress disorder. It is these disturbing memories that first drove the two into a nomadic life, and now brought them here. Hayley has been forced into the role of looking out for and after her father, loving him fiercely, but always wary of what he will do next. As his behaviour grows increasingly erratic, she is finally forced to look to her own past and reach out for help to those who care about her.
Once I started reading this book, I could barely put it down. Hayley has all the inner concerns of any girl her age, plus the burden of her father's illness. She is a character that is finely drawn, and that I quickly grew to care about. Her struggles brought me both tears and laughter, and her father's PTSD is revealed in all its complexity. His flashbacks show the experiences that brought him to where he is now.
A wonderful book.

Mar 05, 2014
  • AliReads rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Unbelievably excellent.

Feb 14, 2014
  • BlueMoonGirl rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

What a wonderfully sad, but descriptive novel of a "family" coming to grips with PTSD. Story feels real.

"Hayley's high school is filled with freaks and zombies -- or at least that how it seems to her. For years, she's lived on the road with her father, a trucker and a military veteran, but now his increasingly severe PTSD has forced them to settle down. Between taking care of her unpredictable dad and struggling with memories of her messed-up childhood, Hayley feels unable connect with anyone at school…until she meets Finn, a guy with issues of his own. If you like realistic, heartbreaking stories with unforgettable characters, don't miss this "exploration of the lingering scars of war" (Kirkus Reviews) from the award-winning author of Speak." Teen Scene February 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/8a08e81d-ac97-440e-96bf-f540fa04887e?postId=e2010111-5bc0-46cc-8cac-949874a1f8c0

Fans of John Green and Sarah Dessen will enjoy the romance between Haley and Finn. Fans of Anderson will not be disappointed by the deep issues so delicately brought to light (as is her trademark). A powerful and quick read, this book will leave a mark on you.

I'm having like serious technical difficulties getting ahold of this book.

This book is based in part on Laurie Halse Anderson's own father and
her experience with another relative returning from combat in Iraq or
Afghanistan.

Her father was a mechanic in the US Army during WW2 & helped to liberate Dachau,
memories of which haunted him, as he had PTSD. It drove him to drinking, and
as a result he lost his job as a Chaplin at a college.

Unemployed, rudderless, he then became a shell of himself, and was no longer
the loving, caring father that she had known during her childhood. She was
angry and embittered as she did not understand what was happening. Her father
is still alive, and suffering from dementia.

I have not read the book but do plan to, as it is surely written from the
heart.

Age

Add Age Suitability

Jul 24, 2014
  • yellow_raccoon_7 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

yellow_raccoon_7 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

When Haley calls home and no one answers the phone by the 2nd ring, she is figures her dad is sleeping. When no one picks up by the 10th ring, she hopes he is mowing the lawn. When no one picks up by the 20th, she knows something is wrong. Something is horribly wrong. She begs a ride from Finn, the editor of the school newspaper who has been nagging her to write for him. But the car is too small, Finn drives to slow, and something is wrong at home. Haley can't breathe, she can't think, she needs out! When a police car pulls up beside them at a stop-light, Haley is down to her last thread of sanity. She jumps out of the car, to Finn's surprise and runs home. There is her dad, drunk, lying on the floor, but breathing...for now.

Andy, her father, an Iraq war veteran, came home from the war, but his head is still full of sand and blood and bombs. Unable to escape the PTSD that haunts him, Andy self medicates with drugs, alcohol and violence. Haley tries to take care of both of them while her best friend's family splits apart, her alcoholic step-mother returns, and Finn asks her out on an anti-date. Can Haley's life handle love right now? Perhaps it is exactly what she needs?

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at NPL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version old_java (old_java) Last updated 2014/08/18 13:52