[]
[]
We're switching to a new catalog on September 15th! Click here for all the details on how this will affect you.
Need Help Logging In? Your password is "patron" unless you changed it in our former catalog; please create a new password once you have created an account. Call Reference at 847-272-4873 if you need assistance, or email us.  Is the item you want on the shelf? Call us at 847-272-6224 to have it set aside for you instead of placing a hold!

All You Never Wanted

Griffin, Adele (Book - 2012 )
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
All You Never Wanted
Print

Item Details

Wealthy teen Thea Parott's jealousy of her older, prettier, more popular sister Alex prompts a series of self-destructive acts that threaten their seemingly-idyllic lives.
Authors: Griffin, Adele
Title: All you never wanted
Publisher: New York : Knopf Books for Young Readers, c2012.
Edition: 1st ed.
Characteristics: 225 p. ;,22 cm.
Summary: Wealthy teen Thea Parott's jealousy of her older, prettier, more popular sister Alex prompts a series of self-destructive acts that threaten their seemingly-idyllic lives.
ISBN: 9780375870828
0375870822
9780375970825
0375970827
9780375870811
0375870814
Statement of Responsibility: Adele Griffin
Subject Headings: Sisters Fiction. Sibling rivalry Fiction. Wealth Fiction.
Genre/Form: Young adult fiction.
Topical Term: Sisters
Sibling rivalry
Wealth
LCCN: 2012020504
MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Apr 12, 2013
  • BPLNextBestTeens rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Alex is beautiful, popular and has a great boyfriend, but she is empty. An embarrassing episode at work has left her unable to leave the house, hang with her friends or eat. Her younger sister, Thea also has everything, thanks to their wealthy step-father. Thea’s compulsive lying keeps her at the centre of attention. But Thea wants more, including Alex’s boyfriend. Will the sisters’ previously tight bond survive?

Focusing on the psychological problems of Alex and Thea, Griffin weaves a tale of self-destruction. Told in alternating chapters, this character-driven novel examines the girls’ quest to find what money cannot buy. Fans of Melissa De La Cruz and Lois Lowry will find this novel difficult to put down. Written by PGH

Mar 13, 2013
  • branch_reviews rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

When your dad abandons you in your tweens and it leaves your mom so poor that you live without electricity for a month, you dream that a rich man will come along and sweep her off her feet and move you all to Camelot, right? Well that’s what happened to Alex and Thea Parrott. Literally. They now live in a gated community in a house called Camelot. It’s so massive and luxurious that it’s the envy (or spite) of all their friends. They now drive flashy BMW’s and can afford anything they could ever dream of thanks to their new step-dad Arthur. In fact, Arthur buys Alex an internship in the fashion world at Haute, but disaster strikes, and gorgeous popular high school senior Alex is no longer the same, having panic attacks that literally leave her stuck somewhere all over town. Sometimes she can’t even manage to leave the house. Then there’s Thea, a junior in high school, a less beautiful and popular version of Alex trying to shed her nerdy image and aiming for the A-list table at lunch. She’s the little sister wannabe that covets everything that belongs to Alex, including the hot boyfriend Joshua. Thea has no problem whatsoever lying and manipulating to steal her sister’s life while Alex struggles through her psychological issues. So while mom is always away traveling and playing the role of trophy wife to her new rich husband, chaos reigns in Camelot, and the two sisters are desperately trying to figure out who they really are and what really matters that money can’t buy. Reviewed by DH

Toxic sister relationship well told.

Age

Add Age Suitability

Mar 13, 2013
  • branch_reviews rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

branch_reviews thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at NPL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version pocillo (pocillo) Last updated 2014/08/26 17:01