[]
[]
Need Help Logging In? Your password is "patron" unless you changed it in our former catalog; please create a new password once you have created an account. Call Reference at 847-272-4873 if you need assistance, or email us.  Is the item you want on the shelf? Call us at 847-272-6224 to have it set aside for you instead of placing a hold!

Who I Kissed

Gurtler, Janet (Book - 2012 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Who I Kissed
Print

Item Details

Janet Gurtler's books have been hailed as "just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult" ( Booklist ) and "reminiscent of Judy Blume" ( RT Book Reviews ). Her latest contemporary YA novel is by turns gripping, heart-wrenching, and joyous as one teen girl has to find the courage to carry on after a devastating tragedy. She never thought a kiss could kill... As the new girl in town, Samantha just wants to fit in. Being invited to a party by her fellow swim team members is her big chance... especially since Zee will be there. He hasn't made a secret of checking her out at the pool. Sam didn't figure on Alex being there too. She barely even knows him. And she certainly didn't plan to kiss him. It just kind of happened. And then Alex dies-right in her arms... Consumed by guilt and grief, Sam has no ideawhat to do or where to turn when everyone at school blames her. What follows is Sam's honest, raw, and unforgettable journey to forgive herself and find balance-maybe even love-in a life that suddenly seems to be spinning out of control.
Authors: Gurtler, Janet
Title: Who I kissed
Publisher: Naperville, Ill. : Sourcebooks Fire, c2012.
Characteristics: 314 p. ;,21 cm.
Audience: Ages 13 and up.
ISBN: 1402270542
9781402270543
Statement of Responsibility: Janet Gurtler
Subject Headings: Death Fiction. Kissing Fiction. High school students Fiction. Death Juvenile fiction. Kissing Juvenile fiction. High school students Juvenile fiction.
Topical Term: Death
Kissing
High school students
Death
Kissing
High school students
MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jun 12, 2013
  • Cdnbookworm rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

This teen novel tells the story of Samantha, a young swimmer at the top of her game. Her father and her have moved to a new community in the same area to allow her to work with a better coach, and she is hoping for a new start there and a chance to make the nationals. When one of her team members invites her to a party she goes, but something happens there that changes her life forever. She kisses a boy she meets (something she has never done before), who then has an asthma attack and dies. She finds out he is highly allergic to nuts, and she had eaten a peanut butter sandwich before the party. Her feelings of guilt paralyze her and she begins withdrawing into herself. How her situation leads her down other avenues, good and bad, that she wouldn't have otherwise gone down shows the emotions that often affect teens. We also see how Samantha's own history has affected her choices.
The author's own son has both strong nut allergies and asthma and this led her to the idea for this story.

Apr 06, 2013
  • ucblue rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Amazing novel, it exceeded my expectations. I couldn't put it down and stayed up many nights just to finish it. I recomend it for anyone who has a hard time forgiving themselves and/or others. Best part was the realilistic ending and how relatable it was. *Sorry if my spelling is wrong.*

Mar 19, 2013
  • MADKC4Ever rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This is a great book about healing and forgiveness. It was such a great story, even though the book looks a little long, it's a very easy, quick read. It was an unexpected surprise that this book was as good as it was. Teens and adults of all ages should read this book! :)

Dec 16, 2012
  • pinkxgurl rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

This story has a satisfying ending with perfect timing, something very rare nowadays. It's a refreshing take on grief and the steps we take to finally forgive ourselves. Check out my full review: http://www.examiner.com/review/book-review-who-i-kissed-by-janet-gurtler

Age

Add Age Suitability

Mar 19, 2013
  • MADKC4Ever rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

MADKC4Ever thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

ruiz1957 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at NPL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.